Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Today nobody will stop with faith; they all go further
~Fear and Trembling Kierkegaard
I wonder where they are going?  I have been reflecting on all the straining and striving that we are prone to do.  BTW I think all of us are guilty at some level.  Contentment is a strange word.  Satisfaction with the way things are seems to be an unacceptable state.  How can I possibly be satisfied when so much is wrong around me?  Much is to be made of acceptance as well.  However acceptance is a mood away from complacency and that certainly does not seem to be acceptable either. 

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Levels of Intimacy In Marriage

Well I have not posted in quite a while.  But that does not mean that I have given up on blogging.  Maybe I can get back into the swing of things.  A lot has happened in my life, but that will have to wait for another post perhaps.  I wanted to talk about levels of intimacy in marriage.
In my counseling experience I have learned that there can be different types of intimacy (Emotional, physical, sexual, and spiritual; See Here).  With each of these there can be levels or depth of intimacy as well.  I have attempted to sort out how to communicate this to the couples that I work with in building a loving and caring marriage.  I have come up with a very complex way of looking at it that would take a book to explain.  Most people lose interest if it cannot be explained simply.  The other day I was attempting to explain levels of intimacy and I came up with three words that help clarify this in a very simple way.  These words are Thoughtfulness, Sensitivity, and Understanding.  Each of these represents different actions.  Each of them also can represent greater intimacy.